Pain in the butt!

Last week I aggravated my piriformis muscle. Nothing too serious, just a dull reminder of its location when I walked. I am lucky. At this stage of the game I do not get sciatica pain, or tingling and numbness in the buttocks. Others might not be so lucky.

According to Livestrong.com

“The piriformis is a small muscle that runs from your sacrum at the bottom of your spine to the top of your femur bone in your thigh. It’s a very important muscle that helps externally rotate your hip, and it’s crucial for the activity of walking by providing stability to the sacrum and sacroiliac joint as you move.

In most people, the sciatic nerve passes underneath the piriformis muscle. However, in some people, the nerve passes through the muscle or over it.

The sciatic nerve passing through the piriformis muscle automatically increases the risk of nerve compression and piriformis syndrome.

Overworking is the main reason for the syndrome. The piriformis muscle is overworked when there is dysfunction, weakness or poor mechanics in another area of the body it connects to. For example:

  • Dysfunction of the sacroiliac (SI) or hip joint
  • Weakness of the deep stabilizing hip muscles
  • Overpronation, or collapsing arch, of the feet

Pain in the buttocks is the primary symptom of piriformis syndrome. You may also have pain that extends down the back of the thigh and into the calf and foot. This may be accompanied by tingling and numbness in the buttocks.

Any movement that involves hip activity can aggravate the pain, which is why walking can be challenging and uncomfortable when you have piriformis syndrome. Piriformis pain while walking may be worse when you’re walking up stairs or up an incline.

Other signs and symptoms include:

  • Difficulty putting weight on the affected buttock
  • Piriformis muscle spasms
  • Shooting pain in the buttock and down the back of your leg when rotating the hip outward against resistance
  • Pain that worsens with sitting”

In my case, poor mechanics might be to blame. Sometimes I try to walk faster which probably stresses my hip joint, or, I take longer strides which might lead to overpronating my foot. Either one of these conditions can cause the muscle to become tight. My piriformis syndrome is chronic and almost always shows up when I am trying to increase my walking pace.

Many, many years ago, when my right butt cheek first started complaining, I consulted a physical therapist. He suggested I begin a course of rehab using very specific stretches. Over time, they worked.

Revisiting the stretch routine is a proactive approach to any uncomfortableness when my piriformis muscle reawakens. It is my cue to be mindful of gradually increasing my pace, while paying attention to the proper mechanics of walking.

Each person’s situation is different. Make sure to consult a professional before self-diagnosing. And remember, a day of rest might be helpful as well.

After all, the goal is not to get the walk over with as fast as possible, but to continue to WalkHappy! : )

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑